Arab-American Artist Dania Releases Middle Eastern-Inspired Single “I Cook When I’m Homesick”

Yuni Morales
2 min readMar 8, 2021

--

Singer/Song-writer Dania pictured above.

Powerful Singer/Songwriter Dania releases her newest single, “I Cook When I’m Homesick”. The lo-fi pop style record offers a soothing yet hypnotizing. When creating the song, Dania says “Food is a very important love language in Arab culture. At the beginning of quarantine, I found myself apart from both my family and Arab culture for the first time in my life. I started FaceTiming my parents and grandparents daily and learning to cook the food they used to cook me growing up, and it was the one thing that made quarantine bearable. It was in the bittersweet moments where I was eating my family’s food alone where I wrote “I Cook When I’m Homesick”.

“I Cook When I’m Homesick” isn’t just about food- the manipulated layered vocals and moody electric pulsating beat sway the listener into an angsty waltz about disappointing those around you, and trying your best to belong as a first-generation American. Throughout the song, I lament about “missing a home I never had, roots that pull from the grass”. But I also stand up for myself, singing in a sultry growl- “love me for who I am”. The beat is reversed in the outro, where multiple voices overlap until they finally become one, as I lament “I’m sorry grandma, my dad, and my homeland, I’ve forgotten everything, I’ve embarrassed you all”.

Keep up with Dania’s artistic journey by following her on Instagram.

--

--

Yuni Morales

Music Journalist/Publicist based in Miami, Florida — follow me on IG: @eloquentera